Welcome To the Firing Line

01/09/2015 11:12

     How did I get started in competition shooting? This is the question I hear more than any. I think back to the day I drove two hours to watch a match. Boom, I was instantly addicted. Little did I realize then that it would take my life down an unexpected path.  I like to say “It’s a hobby that went completely out of control.”  My wallet would agree.
     My first match I was caught off guard. The other shooters went out of their way to help me. I remember thinking to myself “wait, something‘s up. They are being way too nice.”  I now understand that’s how all new shooters are treated all over the world.  I just read an article about U.S Customs holding up the South African team’s ammo from entering into the U.S. So, what happened?  The U.S team along with some manufacturing companies supplied them with everything they needed to produce their own ammo here.
     The first impression of the sport you’ll probably get is, it’s not as ruthless as some other sports. Yes, it can be and there are those few that don’t like losing.  I like to place high like anyone but, I’m just as excited when another competitor does well. You’ll find out, you’re not so much competing against anyone, but with them.  A shooter once told me. “The only person that can beat you is yourself.”  
     So what should you expect? Above all, you are going to have the time of your life.  Even when you’re not shooting well and the wind gods have cursed you. You will still be grinning ear to ear. You will always pick up something new at every match. It’s like a never ending learning curve.
     I spent 20 years in the music business. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thankful for the places I went and people I met. Honestly, if I started shooting when I was younger, I never would have picked up a guitar. If a single person reads this article and gives it a try. Then all the coffee I drank while writing this, will be justified. So go check out a match or just jump in head first. Either way, welcome to the firing line.

Mac Ahnen

Back